Belt that B****

Hello Ladies,

As I sit here on my couch listening to the fine chord of Nirvana I am reminded of how style used to be in 5th grade.  Well at least how style used to be for me in the 5th grade.   I had these oversize mens jeans that I just cut off at the bottom to fit, and I had drawn a sun on the right knee with a black sharpie marker.  I used to wear those jeans with a waffle long sleeved shirt and a mens striped polo over it, to get the layered look.  Oh don’t forget the Dr Martens I had them in a bright blue color.

Anyways instead of dressing like part of the grunge movement I have classed things up a bit in the years that followed and today I am going to post about belting.  There are many different ways to incorporate a belt into the outfit: If your pants are too big and you need to synch them around the waste, if you’re all one color and you need to break it up a bit, if you feel like you have no waste definition, etc…  The list goes on, but there are definitely better ways to use a belt than others.  I usually throw on a belt for waste definition since I wear a lot of shift dresses, sometimes I feel like the belt keeps my womanly figure.  Usually if I put a belt on with a shift dress, I will wear heels because I am a short person and heels with a belt just makes things look longer.  Another reason why I will wear a belt is to secure a layered look.  I have a grey cardigan that has an asymmetrical shape, when its belted the front opens up and slouches a bit to reveal the second layer, which looks fun.  I usually don’t belt a sweater if it doesn’t fall below my mid-thigh, since I am shorter I like to belt a longer sweater because it elongates my short torso.  Also another thing I do is just swap out a sweater or jacket that comes with the same color belt.  There’s no rule saying you have to use the belt that it came with!  Also I always prefer a thinner or medium sized belt, thicker belts make me think I am foraging in the woods looking for berries and pretending to be robin hood.  See below for some ideas and examples.

This is a sweater I would wear buttoned up with a brown belt, I would blouse the top part out over the belt a bit, throw on some tights and some boots and call it a day!

$48.00

$99.00

$132.00

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I would throw this sweater on except I would wear a darker long sleeve shirt underneath, or a white long sleeve shirt underneath.  I love the Earnest Sewn Jeans, I have a pair and they don’t stretch out at all.  Whatever you do, don’t wear the same color belt as the shirt underneath, that would look too matchy matchy.

$195.00

$109.00

$16.50

$99.00

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For this outfit make sure you have a few longer layers, any scarf will look good since you have a majority of basic colors, but I would definitely wear nude tights.

$20.99

$59.00

$59.00

$129.00

2 comments

  1. whateva!!! um tovs I hate to spoil your spill but the bright blue (platform suede) martins oh yeah with YELLOW LACES um yeah they were mine!!! you had the traditional ones, low cut oxfords remember… they were navy!!! but truth is, the bright blue ones, well they were passed to me through a secret portal… and I’ll never reveal my sources (this is a test call to unearth loyal Tova blog readers…: who was the original owner of the electric blue platform martins with yellow laces???)

  2. whateva!!! um tovs I hate to spoil your spill but the bright blue (platform suede) martins oh yeah with YELLOW LACES um yeah they were mine!!! you had the traditional ones, low cut oxfords remember… they were navy!!! but truth is, the bright blue ones, well they were passed to me through a secret portal… and I’ll never reveal my sources (this is a test call to unearth loyal Tova blog readers…: who was the original owner of the electric blue platform martins with yellow laces???)

Leave a Reply

